top of page
the spirit in any condition
does not burn
Premio Furla, Italy
Seventh Edition, 2009

Artists: Giorgio Andreotta Calò, Meris Angioletti, Giulia Piscitelli, Alberto Tadiello and Ian Tweed

Curators: Laura Barreca and Pelin Uran; Caroline  Corbetta and Daniel Birnbaum; Francesco Manacorda and Raimundas Malasauskas; Alessandro Rabottini and Yilmaz Dziewior; Andrea Viliani and Chus Martinez


In 2009, the Premio Furla is renewed with a new format aimed at reinforcing the support for creativity, concentrating not only on the financial support in favour of the selected artists, but also on the training and production factors of the new works. The award aims to offer itself as an authoritative opportunity for growth and visibility not only for the artists but also for the most recent generation of curators, who have carried out highly skilled collaboration with foreign institutions for many years. A first important novelty for this edition concerns in fact the selection mechanism of the finalist artists, which has taken place following a “journey” into Italian contemporary art carried out by five pairs of curators, each composed of an Italian and a foreign guest curator of international renown, bringing about a dynamic of exchange and comparison between different professional experiences.

bottom of page